Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

how to initialize the values of parameters with a .mos file

how to initialize the values of parameters with a .mos file

Hi,

I am a beginner with OpenModelica, so sorry if my question is a stupid one.

I am working with a Dymola model. I have a .mos file, which contains the values of variables that have to be given to OpenModelica so that it could simulate (initialization values).
I'm working with OpenModelicaShell.
I've read it was possible to run a Script  with : runScript("script_name").
Yet, when I do it, I get "failed".
I think it is because the variables of my model are not created when I run the script (because when I write getParameterNames(model_name), I get "{ }" ), but I do not know how to create them, without simulating.

To sum up, here are the commands I use :
loadModel(Modelica,{"3.1"});
loadFile("file_name")
checkModel(model_name)
translateModel(model_name)
runScript("script_name").

What do I do wrong ?

Thank you very much for your help !
Ben

Re: how to initialize the values of parameters with a .mos file

runScript() works the same as running the commands in your mos-script one by one. So you could try seeing where the error occurs. I recommend putting getErrorString() after any command.

I do not know how Dymola sets parameters before running a simulation, but in OpenModelica you can use:

Code:

simulate(model_name, simflags = "-overrideFile=fileName")

Where fileName is a file:

Code:

variable=startValue

someOtherVariable=someOtherStartValue

Thank you very much : I didn't know this "simflags = "-overrideFile=fileName"" technique !
I get "" when I write :
getErrorString()

Is it possible to integrate this "getErrorString" command in the simulate one ?
I've tried :