Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

pre() operator

pre() operator

Hi!
I am pretty new to the Modelica language and I have some general questions about the usage of the pre() operator. I have a continuous Real variable h and I need to use the previous value of that variable in an equation.

Code:

WFd = Fd*(h-pre(h))

When doing so i OMEdit (r19853), the model work but when I run it in Dymola it gives the following error message:

Code:

Error: It is not allowed to use pre for a continuous time variable outside a when clause:

pre(h)
Error detected in
  WFd = Fd*(h-pre(h));

As far as I know pre() can only be used if all of the following three condition are fulfilled.

• The variable y has one of the basic types Boolean, Integer, Real, or String, a subtype of
those, or an array type of one of those basic types or subtypes.
• The variable y is a discrete-time variable.
• The operator is not used within a function.

Is there a way to use the pre() operator without using a when clause or is a when clause the safest way?

About the error message, is this a bug in OMEdit?

Re: pre() operator

JoakimSandin wrote:

I have a continuous Real variable h and I need to use the previous value of that variable in an equation.

It does not have any such value unless you declare the variable "discrete Real". But those cannot change continuously (cannot be a state, etc).

Thanks for the reply. I manage to solve the problem without using pre but I am still a little confused about the pre operator.

I have this equation:
W=m*Cp*(t0-t1)
Where t0 is the previous value of t1.

I have build up this model in Excel as well and using the pre(t) in OpenModelica will give the exact same result as in Excel. Even though variable t is a continuous Real variable.