Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

External C function from DLL

External C function from DLL

Hi everyone,
this is my first post on this forum! I'm a Modelica newbie, so please forgive me if I hit a very simple issue.
Basically, I tried to compile a simple DLL using mingw64 on my Windows 10 machine, then I created this very basic model:

Code:

model test_dll

function my_sum
      input Real a;
      input Real b;
      output Real result;
    external "C" annotation(Library="libtest_om");
  end my_sum;

Real result;
  parameter Real a = 1;
  parameter Real b = 2;
equation
  result = my_sum(a, b);
end test_dll;

It calls the my_sum external function from the libtest_om.dll library. The content of the library is just the function my_sum:

Code:

double my_sum(double a, double b)
{
    double res;
    res = a + b;
    return res;
}

And the DLL itself is located in the path <workdir>/Resources/Library folder.
When I launch the simulation like this, it builds ok, but it fails at startup:
https://ibb.co/gH6zhn

Now, after several failed attempts, I tried to follow the examples of the Modelica Guide, and I tried to put my dll in the <workdir> path. I modified the model as follows:

Code:

model test_dll
  function my_sum
      input Real a;
      input Real b;
      output Real result;
    external "C" annotation(Library="libtest_om", LibraryDirectory="modelica://test_dll");
  end my_sum;

Real result;
  parameter Real a = 1;
  parameter Real b = 2;
equation
  result = my_sum(a, b);
end test_dll;

and now it works fine!
https://ibb.co/fS8ta7

So, the question is: do you know if there is something that I'm missing when trying to link my external function in a directory that is different from the working directory?

Thank you

Re: External C function from DLL